Sometimes this is what modern poetry sounds like to me:

Oceans of darkness pervade the space between you and I.

An audible sigh. Disappointment.  A lie.

Moments of pleasure follow mark’ed pain.  (And at this point they run out of gas….)

And strain; purple rain falls mainly on the plain.

Running after the rails of a crazy train.

Giving way to sun spread ‘cross all of the lands,

Shiny happy people holding hands

Determined, seven seas touch the shores of the sand.

We’re an American Band, determined to get up and stand

Up, don’t give up the fight. A freebird takes flight,

But Tuesday’s gone and it’s Saturday Night.

Like the Bay City Rollers every letter’s a word.

Every word, is a word, except those not heard

These are just thoughts, not a word

To your mother like that one time by Vanilla Ice;

Think twice.  It’s just another day in Paradise,

But not like the city, Axel Rose, what a pity?

Do the Ditty Ditty, if you want to,

I only have eyes for you, I take two

Steps forward, you take two back,

Too many steps could cause a heart attack-ack-ack-ack-ack.

You oughta know by now, in my mind

I’m going to Carolina, don’t stop rewind,

Remember when Firehouse was looking to find

The love of a lifetime?  We are not the same,

Is this burning and eternal flame,

Because you never even call me by my name.

Say my name, say my name.  She’s married to Jay-Z

Bruno Mars sings the song about being lazy-

Purple Hazy, Britney Spears sings about being drove crazy,

Who’d a thought she’s white trash like Skynard and Duke, Daisy.

I have a tendency to wear my heart on my sleeve,

You can check out anytime, but you can never leave.

Hotel California, in case you don’t believe.

Like that one song where the guy breaks at the bend,

This poem will transcend

 Val Kilmer’s Jim Morrison said this is the end.

 

 

Leave a Reply

