Mom, I have a few confessions to make

Posted: May 12, 2012 in Pregnant Wife Stories

I used to hide beer in my guitar case in high school.  Let me be a bit more honest.  I used to drink massive amounts of beer in high school; some of that beer was stored in my guitar case in my closet.  You might remember my closet was disgusting–all part of my plan to keep you from raiding my beer.  If it helps, the beer was Milwaukee’s Best, which sucks cold, so stored warm in a guitar case was kind of a punishment in itself.

Mom, I may or may not have experimented with things I shouldn’t have.  I cannot lie anymore.  I liked New Kids on the Block.  I will also admit that I may have tried things you did in the 60s, but you did first and no one likes a hypocrite, right?

Mother, we disagree on something.  Hamburger Helper IS awesome.  How could you be so wrong when something is so right?  Seriously, mom, it takes hamburger and turns it into something magical.

Dude, mom, you made us drink powdered milk.  This is actually illegal now and there is no statute of limitations on a crime like that.

Okay, I stole all those people’s mail, no secret, but i never told you why.  That week they were mailing out free samples of Lucky Charms.  If you would have just paid the money and bought us good cereal, my life of crime would have been staved off atleast until I got caught shoplifting years later! But Caramellows were delicious so there was no avoiding that one.

I expected you to be superhuman.   Who would have thought that one day you’ll actually have to prove it by beating a new super-villain?  Ironically, who would have thought that to beat it, you would have to be chemically weakened and raped by chemotherapy.   There was a Superman story where he is essentially dead, killed by exposure to kryptonite.  Your story is similar, except that he couldn’t beat it without being separated from it, while you looked it straight in the eye and fought.

You reminded me a bit of King Leer, where in a moment of pure realization about who he was, he stood in the openness on the heath, tore his robes off and screamed “Blow, winds, and crack your cheeks!  Rage!”  You had this moment when you triumphantly shaved your head and took ownership of that instance in your life.

Mom, I have been mad at you, but I never stopped loving you.

Mom, we didn’t talk for awhile, but I had conversations with you everyday.

Mom, you have been mad at me, but you never stopped loving me.

Mom, we didn’t talk for awhile, but you waited for me.

Mom, we are a lot alike, don’t you think?

I can’t think of a person I would rather be compared to and I just wanted you to know this, because I have been holding it in for years.  Happy Mothers Day, I love you!

Comments
  1. Lovely piece.. I can relate to it so much..

  2. haphillips says:

    I really appreciate your comment

  3. Diane says:

    Heath,
    You are a wonderful son!!! But of course your Mom is a awesome Mom, friend, sister, aunt, daughter, and person!!! If I had done anywhere near the job she did in all of the titles listed above I would be proud…however I fall short (extremely short) in all of them. Your a good man Heath Phillips!!! And I love you!!

  4. Colleen says:

    Brilliant on every level. Your mom must be very proud indeed, and what genuine joy you no doubt provide each other every day. God bless. : )

  5. haphillips says:

    I have an unbelievable mom, I could have written for days. I am greatful for your comment.

  6. linniep says:

    Heath, there is just something about a mom and her boy…it’s not less than what I have with my daughters, but it is different and completely special, unique. You have been my boy forever, when we didnt speak I was lost, this is the power you have over me. I am so proud of you, of everything you do. I want to stand in the crowd and shout out that you are my boy! I love you forever.
    The powdered milk helped save money to fly your dad home from anywhere in the world, he flew home early and probably went out and bought whole milk at his first opportunity. We will disagree over the hamburger helper and agree that Milwalkee’s best is nasty.
    Mom

  7. linniep says:

    Heath, there is just something unique and special between a mom and her boy..it is not less than what I have with your sisters but it is so sweet. I am so proud of you, of everything you do, I want to stand in a crowd and shout out that you are my boy. When we didnt speak I was lost, that is the power you have over me. Being your mom has been wonderful, I am constantly amazed at the things I missed during your high school years and frankly I am glad I didn’t know about them. You have grown into a wonderful man and I am so proud.
    About the powdered milk, I was saving money to fly dad home early from his cruise, he did get home early and I am sure he immediately went out and stocked up on whole milk. We must disagree about the hamburger helper and I will agree that Milwaukee’s Best is no more than you deserved. Love you, Mom

  8. Pam says:

    Heath, what a beautiful way to say I love you to my sister. I agree she is totally amazing, you know she doesnt see herself as strong but she has always been very strong woman. You make your aunty proud of the man that you have become and the father you will make
    Love Aunty Pam

  9. One hell of a confession,kudos

  10. […] He majored in English, and randomly references “King Leer” and “Paradise Lost” when you are least expecting […]

Leave a Reply

